#EdShift Chat: How To Fact-Check Political Claims

    by Stacy Forster
    April 29, 2016
    Photo by Nick Harris on Flickr and reused here with Creative Commons license.

    Taking claims apart and checking their accuracy has become a part of politics almost as much as the candidates themselves.

    With the country racing toward the November election, organizations such as PolitiFact and FactCheck.org render swift judgment on how truthful statements are. How do they do it? Join us Tuesday, May 3, 2016, starting at 1 p.m. Eastern time/Noon Central/10 a.m. Pacific, for an #EdShift chat about how to fact-check political claims and how to teach students to master it.

    The chat, which you can find by searching for the #EdShift Twitter hashtag, will be moderated by Stacy Forster of the University of Wisconsin-Madison. Other guests will include Mark Stencel of Duke University’s Reporters Lab, Eugene Kiely of FactCheck.org at the Annenberg Public Policy Center, UW-Madison’s Mike Wagner, Tom Kertscher of the Milwaukee Journal Sentinel’s PolitiFact team, Jessica Arp of WISC-TV’s Reality Check and more.
    Here is a Storify of the conversation:

    Tagged: fact fact-checking factcheck.org journalism journalism education new media politfact

    Comments are closed.

  • Who We Are

    MediaShift is the premier destination for insight and analysis at the intersection of media and technology. The MediaShift network includes MediaShift, EducationShift, MetricShift and Idea Lab, as well as workshops and weekend hackathons, email newsletters, a weekly podcast and a series of DigitalEd online trainings.

    About MediaShift »
    Contact us »
    Sponsor MediaShift »

    Follow us on Social Media