• ADVERTISEMENT

    Live Chat: How Journalists Use SMS + Radio in Developing World

    by Mark Glaser
    November 3, 2011

    Text messages are becoming an important medium in parts of the world where less people have Internet access and smartphones. There are various services, projects and radio programs that are using SMS as a way to interact with their audiences in places like Afghanistan, Uganda and Zimbabwe.

    So we decided to host a live chat on Twitter about the use of SMS and texting technology by journalists, news organizations, radio shows and more around the world. Many projects are using SMS to help connect communities to important news and information, and to create a feedback loop for programs.

    On Nov. 2 at 10:30 am PT/1:30 pm ET/6:30 pm CET, I moderated the live Twitter chat on SMS use, with these special guests:

    ADVERTISEMENT

    Melissa Ulbricht: MobileActive and Mobile Media Toolkit
    Sean McDonald: FrontlineSMS
    Zach Peterson: Radio Free Europe/Radio Azadi

    The following is the best of that chat, pulled in with Storify. Thanks to everyone who participated!

    [View the story “Live Twitter Chat about SMS + Journalism” on Storify]

    ADVERTISEMENT
    Tagged: filtering frontlinesms language mobile media toolkit mobileactive radio free europe SMS text messages

    Comments are closed.

  • ADVERTISEMENT
  • ADVERTISEMENT
  • Who We Are

    MediaShift is the premier destination for insight and analysis at the intersection of media and technology. The MediaShift network includes MediaShift, EducationShift, MetricShift and Idea Lab, as well as workshops and weekend hackathons, email newsletters, a weekly podcast and a series of DigitalEd online trainings.

    About MediaShift »
    Contact us »
    Sponsor MediaShift »

    Follow us on Social Media

    @MediaShiftorg
    @Mediatwit
    @MediaShiftPod
    Facebook.com/MediaShift