Media and Journalism Awards: Dec. 8 Edition

by Bianca Fortis
December 8, 2016
The deadline to apply for the Goldsmith Prize for Investigative Reporting is Jan. 3. Photo by Anne Helmond on Flickr and used with Creative Commons license.

Here’s a list of current media and journalism awards, including deadlines for applying. If we’re missing any major awards, please contact Mark Glaser at mark [at] mediashift [dot] org, and we’ll add them to the list. Any Featured Awards are paid sponsorships. Award descriptions are excerpts, edited for length and clarity. 

Featured Award

The Goldsmith Prize for Investigative Reporting
Shorenstein Center on Media, Politics and Public Policy

The Goldsmith Prize for Investigative Reporting, awarded by Harvard’s Shorenstein Center on Media, Politics and Public Policy, honors journalism that best promotes more effective and ethical conduct of government, the making of public policy, or the practice of politics. Open to newspapers, magazines, broadcast media and online news organizations. Entries must be stories that have made an impact on public policy in the United States at the national, regional, or local level. The winner receives $25,000, and five finalists receive $10,000.


Apply here!

Deadline: January 3, 2017, at 5 pm ET


Aronson Awards
Hunter College Department of Film & Media Studies
Since 1990, the Aronson Awards have honored original, written reporting that exposes widespread injustices, underlying causes, and possible reforms. This includes exposing discrimination based on race, class, gender, religion or sexual orientation; economic exploitation; violations of human rights, civil liberties or free expression; environmental degradation; and brutality to civilians in war.

 The Aronson Award recognizes original work published in English in newspapers, magazines, blogs and online publications based in the U.S. A separate prize, the Grambs Aronson Award for Cartooning with a Conscience, recognizes the achievements of political cartoonists whose work focuses on social issues.
Deadline: Jan. 10, 2017


Mark of Excellence Awards
Society of Professional Journalists
The Mark of Excellence Awards honors the best in collegiate journalism. Judged at the regional and national level, the annual competition offers 51 categories in newspapers, magazines, photography, radio, television and online journalism.
Deadline: Jan. 16, 2017

Selden Ring Award
Presented by the University of Southern California Annenberg School for Communication and Journalism, the Selden Ring Award highlights the importance of investigative journalism in modern day reporting. Nominations are generally received in January.
Deadline: Jan. 20, 2017

The Michael Kelly Award
Atlantic Media Co.
The Michael Kelly Award honors a writer or editor whose work exemplifies a quality that animated Michael Kelly’s own career: the fearless pursuit and expression of truth.
Deadline: Feb. 3, 2017

Ancil Payne Awards for Ethics in Journalism
University of Oregon
The Ancil Payne Awards honor journalists who exhibit extraordinary commitment to the highest standards of ethical conduct in journalism, even when faced with economic, personal or political pressure.
Deadline: Feb. 13, 2017

Sigma Delta Chi Awards for Excellence in Journalism
Society of Professional Journalists
The awards recognize the best in professional journalism in categories covering print, radio, television, newsletters, art/graphics, online and research.
Deadline: Feb. 13, 2017

New America Award
Society of Professional Journalists
SPJ’s New America Award honors public service journalism that explores and exposes an issue of importance to immigrant or ethnic communities currently living in the United States.
Deadline: Feb. 20, 2017

International Women’s Media Foundation Awards
The International Women’s Media Foundation’s Courage in Journalism Award honors women journalists for their extraordinary bravery. In facing and surviving danger to uncover the truth, they raise the bar for reporting under duress. The IWMF also recognize the pioneers who kicked down barriers to make it possible for women all over the world to find their voices and make them heard. Lifetime Achievement Award winners persevered, opening doors for future generations to make a difference.
Deadline: Mar. 1, 2017


Alfred I. duPont-Columbia University Awards
Columbia University
The award recognizes excellence in broadcast, documentary and digital journalism.

Asian Digital Media Awards
World Association of Newspapers and News Publishers
The awards honor Asian publishers that have excelled in their digital offerings.

Data Journalism Awards
Global Editors Network
The awards is an international contest recognizing outstanding work in data journalism worldwide.

Middle East Digital Media Awards
World Association of Newspapers and News Publishers
The awards honor Middle Eastern publishers that have excelled in their digital offerings.

Meyer “Mike” Berger Award
The Columbia Journalism Awards
The Meyer “Mike” Berger Award and its $2,000 cash prize are awarded for outstanding human interest reporting across platforms.

Mirror Awards
Syracuse University S. I. Newhouse School of Public Communications
The Mirror Awards honor excellence in media industry reporting in various categories for various forms of media.

Pulitzer Prizes
Columbia University
The Pulitzer Prize awards achievements in newspaper and online journalism, literature and musical composition.

Society of Professional Journalists Awards
The Society of Professional Journalists has various awards for professional to collegiate journalists for excellence in various forms of media. Awards are rolling and there are several with deadlines in June. Please check the site for more details.

The Bookmarks Awards
Digital Media and Marketing Association
The Bookmarks Awards, based in South Africa, honor excellence in digital work, from websites, app development and games to multimedia and digital journalism.

The Cabot Prizes
The Columbia Journalism Awards
The prizes recognize a distinguished body of work that has contributed to Inter-American understanding.

Bianca Fortis is the associate editor at MediaShift, a founding member of the Transborder Media storytelling collective and a social media consultant. Follow her on Twitter @biancafortis.

Tagged: awards cabot prizes deadlines goldsmith prize prizes spj

Comments are closed.