#EdShift Chat: Storytelling with Virtual Reality

    by Stacy Forster
    June 3, 2016
    Photo by the Knight Center for Journalism and reused here with Creative Commons license.

    Virtual reality is the next big new storytelling opportunity for journalism. The New York Times brought virtual reality into the mainstream when it distributed cardboard viewers so readers could view a film it created, but news organizations have spent the last year experimenting how to create and deliver virtual reality content.

    Before you jump in, join us Tuesday, June 7, 2016, starting at 1 p.m. Eastern time/Noon Central/10 a.m. Pacific, for an #EdShift chat about virtual reality — how it gets done, where it’s heading and how to approach telling a story in this different dimension.

    The chat, which you can find by searching for the #EdShift Twitter hashtag, will be moderated by Stacy Forster of the University of Wisconsin-Madison. Other guests will include Robert Hernandez of the University of Southern California, Daniel Pacheco of Syracuse University, Tom Kent of the Associated Press and Columbia University, Katy Culver of UW-Madison, Sam Gill of the Knight Foundation, Russell Chun of Hofstra University and more.


    Here is a Storify of the conversation:

    Tagged: journalism journalism education new media new media journalism virtual reality virtual reality journalism virtual reality reporting

    Comments are closed.

  • Who We Are

    MediaShift is the premier destination for insight and analysis at the intersection of media and technology. The MediaShift network includes MediaShift, EducationShift, MetricShift and Idea Lab, as well as workshops and weekend hackathons, email newsletters, a weekly podcast and a series of DigitalEd online trainings.

    About MediaShift »
    Contact us »
    Sponsor MediaShift »

    Follow us on Social Media