#EdShift Chat: Long-form Journalism in a Snapchat World

    by Stacy Forster
    June 8, 2015
    Image from Big Stock Photo.

    On Tuesday, June 9, our #EdShift chat on Twitter will cover how to think about and create long-form journalism in the age of Snapchat. With younger audiences spending less time consuming the news or finding it through social media platforms such as Snapchat, Instagram and Twitter, where does long-form journalism fit in?

    Join us at 1 p.m. Eastern Time / 12 p.m. Central Time / 10 a.m. Pacific Time as we discuss the ways long-form journalism can thrive in a world of quick-hit pieces and BuzzFeed-style listicles, and how to teach students to produce it — even when they may not consume it regularly themselves.

    The chat will be moderated by Stacy Forster of the University of Wisconsin-Madison, with special guests Mei-Ling Hopgood of Northwestern University’s Medill School of Journalism, Katia Bachko of The Atavist Magazine, Mark Johnson of the Grady College of Journalism at the University of Georgia, Nick Penzenstadler of the investigative team at USA Today, Katy Culver of UW-Madison and more. A Storify of the chat will be added to this page after the chat.

    Tagged: #EdShift chat attention span facebook long-form journalism snapchat twitter

    Comments are closed.

  • Who We Are

    MediaShift is the premier destination for insight and analysis at the intersection of media and technology. The MediaShift network includes MediaShift, EducationShift, MetricShift and Idea Lab, as well as workshops and weekend hackathons, email newsletters, a weekly podcast and a series of DigitalEd online trainings.

    About MediaShift »
    Contact us »
    Sponsor MediaShift »
    MediaShift Newsletters »

    Follow us on Social Media