#EdShift Chat: Teaching Business Skills at J-School

by Melissa DiPento
November 22, 2017
Photo by Štefan Štefančík on Unsplash.

The idea of a “Chinese wall” separating business and editorial is crumbling as more journalists and producers have to strike out on their own as freelancers or small business owners. And very few journalists are getting the training they need in journalism or communication schools to market themselves and run their businesses.

One professor, Lori Shontz at University of Oregon, recently had an epiphany about the importance of teaching business skills in her journalism classroom, while attending the recent J-School Hackathon at the University of North Texas.

In this #EdShift Twitter chat, we explored why it’s important to introduce business skills to journalism students. We also discussed teaching methods, shared tips and technologies, and thought through best practices. 

ADVERTISEMENT

The chat took place on Wednesday, Nov. 29 at 1 p.m. Eastern / 12 noon Central / 10 a.m. Pacific Time using the #EdShift hashtag on Twitter.

Participants included: Dale Blasingame of Texas State; Jody Brannon, digital strategist, consultant and adjunct professor; Curt Chandler of Penn State University; Gretchen Macchiarella of California State, Northridge; Cindy Royal of Texas State; and Betty Tsakarestou of Panteion University.

#EdShift’s Melissa DiPento moderated the event. A Storify recap is posted below.

ADVERTISEMENT
Tagged: business entrepreneurial entrepreneurial journalism

Comments are closed.