#EdShift Chat: How to Teach Engagement Strategies to Students

    by Melissa DiPento
    October 19, 2017

    More and more, journalists and newsrooms are thinking critically about engagement. Engagement was at the forefront of the 2017 ONA Conference, and educators, too, must consider how to teach real-world engagement strategies to students who don’t have a built-in audience.

    During this chat, we considered what engagement looks like today. We also brainstormed ways we can teach students to experiment with different listening tools, social media callouts, crowdsourcing, Facebook live, A/B testing and much more.

    The chat took place on Wednesday, Oct. 25 at 1 p.m. Eastern / 12 noon Central / 10 a.m. Pacific Time, using the #EdShift hashtag on Twitter.


    Participants included: Staci Baird of the University of La Verne, Jake Batsell of Southern Methodist University, Carrie Brown of the CUNY Graduate School of Journalism, Lisa Heyamoto of the University of Oregon, and Marie Shanahan of the University of Connecticut. 

    Tagged: crowdsourcing engagement facebook live social media

    Comments are closed.

  • Who We Are

    MediaShift is the premier destination for insight and analysis at the intersection of media and technology. The MediaShift network includes MediaShift, EducationShift, MetricShift and Idea Lab, as well as workshops and weekend hackathons, email newsletters, a weekly podcast and a series of DigitalEd online trainings.

    About MediaShift »
    Contact us »
    Sponsor MediaShift »
    MediaShift Newsletters »

    Follow us on Social Media