• ADVERTISEMENT

    #EdShift Chat: Producing Smartphone Content in Class

    by Stacy Forster
    January 13, 2017
    Photo by Melissa BARRA on Flickr and reused here with Creative Commons license.

    Using social media platforms to create and share content is second nature to today’s college students, and journalism educators can build assignments around smartphone content production to get students to snap, tweet, Instagram and more in class.

    We’ll share ideas for assignments, ideas for teaching technology and tips for what apps to try in an #EdShift chat at 1 p.m. Eastern time/Noon Central/10 a.m. Pacific on Tuesday, Jan. 17. You can find it by searching for the #EdShift Twitter hashtag.

    Participants will include American University’s Kyle Brannon, who will teach a DigitalEd training about how to put smartphones to work in the classroom on Wednesday, Jan. 18. Other guests will include the University of Maryland’s Bethany Swain, American University’s Larry Engel and MediaShift’s James Buck.  The chat will be moderated by Stacy Forster of the University of Wisconsin-Madison.

    ADVERTISEMENT

    Here is a Storify of the conversation:

    Tagged: journalism journalism education mobile content mobile journalism smartphone smartphone photography smartphone use smartphone video
  • ADVERTISEMENT
  • ADVERTISEMENT
  • Who We Are

    MediaShift is the premier destination for insight and analysis at the intersection of media and technology. The MediaShift network includes MediaShift, EducationShift, MetricShift and Idea Lab, as well as workshops and weekend hackathons, email newsletters, a weekly podcast and a series of DigitalEd online trainings.

    About MediaShift »
    Contact us »
    Sponsor MediaShift »

    Follow us on Social Media

    @MediaShiftorg
    @Mediatwit
    @MediaShiftPod
    Facebook.com/MediaShift