#EdShift Chat: Education for Educators

    by Stacy Forster
    September 6, 2016
    Professor Robert Hernandez listens to a question during his presentation Teachapalooza 14 at the Poynter Institute in St. Petersburg, Florida, in 2014 (Photo/Mark E. Johnson, www.mejphoto.com)

    It’s back to school time for students, but every once in a while, even the teacher needs to get schooled. Lifelong learning for educators is critical to keeping skills fresh, understanding new technology and learning how what we’re doing in our classrooms now fits into a bigger context. We’ll explore how educators can engage with and receive a continuing education in an #EdShift Twitter chat on Tuesday, Sept. 6.

    The chat, which you can find by searching for the #EdShift Twitter hashtag, will start at 1 p.m. Eastern time/Noon Central/10 a.m. Pacific on Tuesday.

    Guests will include Al Tompkins of The Poynter Institute, James Buck, Media Shift’s DigitalEd manager, Katy Culver of the University of Wisconsin-Madison, Ed Leon of The Great Courses, Sara Quinn of Kansas State University and more. The chat will be hosted by Stacy Forster of UW-Madison.


    Here is a Storify of the chat:

    Tagged: continuing education educators higher education journalism journalism education journalism educators poynter institute teacher education

    Comments are closed.

  • Who We Are

    MediaShift is the premier destination for insight and analysis at the intersection of media and technology. The MediaShift network includes MediaShift, EducationShift, MetricShift and Idea Lab, as well as workshops and weekend hackathons, email newsletters, a weekly podcast and a series of DigitalEd online trainings.

    About MediaShift »
    Contact us »
    Sponsor MediaShift »

    Follow us on Social Media