#EdShift Chat: Encouraging Student Participation in Online Courses

    by Stacy Forster
    April 1, 2016

    When you’re teaching online, one of the hardest things to translate is the atmosphere of collaboration and camaraderie that comes from sitting together in a classroom. But the same technology that allows educators to offer online courses also creates opportunities for establishing a conversation between students and instructors.

    In our April 5 #EdShift chat, we’ll explore ways to encourage and foster participation in online courses, and how to go beyond discussion boards to find other paths to build relationships with online students. Join us Tuesday, starting at 1 p.m. Eastern time/Noon Central/10 a.m. Pacific.

    The chat, which you can find by searching for the #EdShift Twitter hashtag, will be moderated by Stacy Forster of the University of Wisconsin-Madison. Other guests will include Kelly Lux of Syracuse University, Gina Martino-Dahlia of West Virginia University, Darrin Devault of the University of Memphis, Susan Keith of Rutgers University, Will Yurman of Penn State University, Richard Lee of St. Bonaventure University, Kate Nash of the University of New Mexico and more.


    In case you missed it, here is a Storify of the conversation:

    Tagged: discussion journalism journalism education journalism education online online classes online courses online education

    Comments are closed.

  • Who We Are

    MediaShift is the premier destination for insight and analysis at the intersection of media and technology. The MediaShift network includes MediaShift, EducationShift, MetricShift and Idea Lab, as well as workshops and weekend hackathons, email newsletters, a weekly podcast and a series of DigitalEd online trainings.

    About MediaShift »
    Contact us »
    Sponsor MediaShift »

    Follow us on Social Media