#EdShift Chat: Finding New Revenue Streams for Student Media

    by Stacy Forster
    February 12, 2016
    Photo by Phil Roeder on Flickr and used here with Creative Commons license.

    The challenges in the shifting funding model for journalism — away from print and toward digital platforms — may be even more acute for student media than their professional counterparts. How can student media organizations make ends meet amid this trend of declining advertising revenue and fragmented audiences, and what advantages do student media have that they can use to improve their bottom line?

    In our #EdShift chat on Tuesday, Feb. 16, starting at 1 p.m. Eastern time/Noon Central/10 a.m. Pacific time, we’ll talk about how student news organizations are trying to diversify their revenue streams and swap strategies for attracting new funding sources.

    The chat, which you can find by searching for the #EdShift Twitter hashtag, will be moderated by Stacy Forster of the University of Wisconsin-Madison. Guests will include Kelley Callaway, of the College Media Association and Rice University; Steve Buttry of Louisiana State University; Candace Baltz of Oregon State University; Polo Rocha of the Badger Herald; Arvli Ward of UCLA; Charlie Weaver of the University of Oregon; Travis Ricks of The State News and more.
    In case you missed it, here is a Storify of the conversation:

    Tagged: advertising revenue online revenue revenue model student journalism student journalists student media

    Comments are closed.

  • Who We Are

    MediaShift is the premier destination for insight and analysis at the intersection of media and technology. The MediaShift network includes MediaShift, EducationShift, MetricShift and Idea Lab, as well as workshops and weekend hackathons, email newsletters, a weekly podcast and a series of DigitalEd online trainings.

    About MediaShift »
    Contact us »
    Sponsor MediaShift »

    Follow us on Social Media