#EdShift Chat: College Media’s Shift from Print to Digital

    by Stacy Forster
    June 18, 2015
    Photo by Deanna Dent, Cronkite News Service at the Walter Cronkite School of Journalism

    On Tuesday, June 23, our #EdShift chat on Twitter will cover how student media outlets are confronting the changing landscape in media by shifting their products away from print in favor of the web and social media coverage. In many ways, they’re pushing the envelope ahead of professional news organizations, and in the process, they’re doing a better job of reaching their audience in media where they’re already interacting.

    Join us at 1 p.m. Eastern Time / 12 p.m. Central Time / 10 a.m. Pacific Time as we discuss the ways student news organizations are changing the platforms and outlets for their product while still providing vital coverage of their campuses and communities.

    The chat will be moderated by Stacy Forster of the University of Wisconsin-Madison, and guests will include Dan Reimold of St. Joseph’s University, Nadia White of the University of Montana, Steve Buttry of Louisiana State University, former Badger Herald editor in chief Tara Golshan and more. A Storify of the chat will be added to this page after the chat.


    If you’re interested in learning more on this topic, there will be a DigitalEd training by Dan Reimold on July 15. Sign up here!

    Tagged: college college media student media student newspaper university

    Comments are closed.

  • Who We Are

    MediaShift is the premier destination for insight and analysis at the intersection of media and technology. The MediaShift network includes MediaShift, EducationShift, MetricShift and Idea Lab, as well as workshops and weekend hackathons, email newsletters, a weekly podcast and a series of DigitalEd online trainings.

    About MediaShift »
    Contact us »
    Sponsor MediaShift »
    MediaShift Newsletters »

    Follow us on Social Media