Here’s a list of current media and journalism awards, including deadlines for applying. If we’re missing any major programs, please use our Contact Form to let us know, and we’ll add them to the list. 

August 2014 Deadlines

UK Foreign Press Association (FPA) Awards
The Thomson Foundation
The award for “young journalist from the developing world”, sponsored by the Thomson Foundation, honors journalists ages 30 or younger doing exceptional journalistic work in developing countries.
Deadline: Aug. 29, 2014

September 2014 Deadlines

Digital Book Awards
Digital Book World
The awards recognize innovation, creativity and excellence in all aspects of digital book publishing including design and technology integration.
Deadline: Sept. 2, 2014

The Newswomen’s Club Front Page Awards 2014
The Newswomen’s Club of New York
The awards are one of the few in the world that recognize journalistic excellence by newswomen, including reporters, photographers, and columnists.
Deadline: Sept. 5, 2014

Fund for Investigative Journalism Grants
Fund for Investigative Journalism
FIJ awards grants averaging $5,000 three or four times each year for proposals that break new ground and expose wrongdoing relating to government accountability, local or regional investigations.
Deadline: Sept. 8, 2014

United Nations Correspondents Association Award for UN Coverage
United Nations Correspondents Association
The awards honor the best written and electronic media coverage of the UN, its agencies and field operations.
Deadline: Sept. 15, 2014

Deadlines Down the Line

Ancil Payne Awards for Ethics in Journalism
University of Oregon
The award honors journalists who inspire public trust and demonstrate exceptional journalism ethics behavior.
Deadline: March 3, 2015

AP-Google Scholarship
Online News Association
The scholarship program fosters new journalism skills in undergraduate and graduate students enveloping projects at the intersection of journalism and technology.

Anthony Shadid Award for Journalism Ethics
University of Wisconsin-Madison Center for Journalism Ethics
One journalism or team will be recognized for reporting on a story or series with ethical excellence — by seeking and reporting truth, minimizing harm, acting independently, and remaining accountable.

APME Journalism Excellence Awards
Associated Press Media Editors
The awards honor superior journalism and innovation among newspapers, radio, televise band online news sites across the United States and Canada.

Best of Photojournalism Competition
National Press Photographers Association
This long-standing visual journalism competition recognizes the most talented professionals in still, video, multimedia and editing.

Bookmarks Awards
Digital Media and Marketing Association
The Bookmarks Awards, based in South Africa, honor excellence in digital work, from websites, app development and games to multimedia and digital journalism.

Data Journalism Awards
Global Editors Network
The awards is an international contest recognizing outstanding work in data journalism worldwide.

Edward R. Murrow Awards
Radio Television Digital News Association
The award honors outstanding achievements in electronic journalism and are presented to news organizations.

European Digital Media Awards
World Association of Newspapers and News Publishers
The awards honor European publishers that have excelled in their digital offerings.

Excellence in Online Journalism Award
National Press Foundation
The award recognizes significant achievements in the field of internet journalism and honors outstanding use of online technology to produce quality journalism.
Deadline: October 2014

ICFJ Awards
International Center for Journalists
The ICFJ has various awards, including a news innovation award, which promotes the free flow of news and the open exchange of ideas, and an award for general excellence in journalism.

Mirror Awards
Syracuse University S. I. Newhouse School of Public Communications
The Mirror Awards honor excellence in media industry reporting in various categories for various forms of media.

Pulitzer Prizes
Columbia University
The Pulitzer Prize awards achievements in newspaper and online journalism, literature and musical composition.
Deadline: January 2015

Selden Ring Award
University of Southern California Annenberg School for Communication and Journalism
The Selden Ring Award highlights the importance of investigative journalism in modern day reporting.
Deadline: February 2015

Shorty Awards
The Shorty Awards honor the best of social media. Millions of people participate in The Shortys to recognize individuals and organizations producing great content on Twitter, Facebook, Tumblr, YouTube, Foursquare and the rest of the social web.

Society of Professional Journalists Awards
The Society of Professional Journalists has various awards for professional to collegiate journalists for excellence in various forms of media.

United Nations/Ranan Lurie Political Cartoon Awards
The United Nations/Ranan Lurie
The awards are granted for the best political cartoons reflecting the spirit and the principles of the United Nations.
Deadline: Nov. 15, 2014

Webby Awards
The Webby Awards honor the best of the web, from multimedia to digital journalism to interactive publishing to online campaigns.

Angela Washeck is a freelance writer and editor based in Dallas. She is a proud graduate of Texas A&M University, where she earned a Bachelor of Arts in Communication with a journalism minor. Angela also writes for MediaBistro’s 10,000 Words blog and, and she interned with the TV news magazine “Dan Rather Reports.” Her work has been republished on Editor & Publisher, the American Press Institute and more. When Angela is not busy with PBS MediaShift work, you can find her watching “How I Met Your Mother” reruns, watching Aggie football and attending indie/folk concerts in Dallas. Follow her @angelawasheck.