Media and Journalism Awards: July 2014 Edition

    by Angela Washeck
    July 23, 2014
    Photo by Brad.K via Flickr CC.

    Here’s a list of current media and journalism awards, including deadlines for applying. If we’re missing any major programs, please use our Contact Form to let us know, and we’ll add them to the list. 

    July 2014 Deadlines

    Katherine Schneider Journalism Award for Excellence in Reporting on Disability
    National Center on Disability and Journalism
    The award honors print, broadcast and online reporters producing excellent disability coverage and going beyond the ordinary in conveying the challenges experienced by people living with disabilities.
    Deadline: July 31, 2014

    August 2014 Deadlines

    AAAS Kavli Science Journalism Awards
    American Association for the Advancement of Science
    The award honors individuals for outstanding reporting for their coverage of the sciences, engineering and mathematics (excluding health and clinical medicine) and selected based on scientific accuracy, initiative, originality, clarity of interpretation and value in fostering a better understanding of science by the public.
    Deadline: Aug. 1, 2014


    Future of StoryTelling Prize
    Future of StoryTelling Summit
    The FoST prize aims to reward the talents of those pushing the boundaries of what it means to be a storyteller in the digital age.
    Deadline: Aug. 1, 2014

    RTDNA/NEFE Excellence in Personal Finance Reporting Awards
    Radio Television Digital News Association and the National Endowment for Financial Education
    The Radio Television Digital News Association (RTDNA) and the National Endowment for Financial Education will present awards for the best online, radio and television pieces on financial issues.
    Deadline: Aug. 1, 2014

    September 2014 Deadlines

    Digital Book Awards
    Digital Book World
    The awards recognize innovation, creativity and excellence in all aspects of digital book publishing including design and technology integration.
    Deadline: Sept. 2, 2014


    Fund for Investigative Journalism Grants
    Fund for Investigative Journalism
    FIJ awards grants averaging $5,000 three or four times each year for proposals that break new ground and expose wrongdoing relating to government accountability, local or regional investigations.
    Deadline: Sept. 8, 2014

    United Nations Correspondents Association Award for UN Coverage
    United Nations Correspondents Association
    The awards honor the best written and electronic media coverage of the UN, its agencies and field operations.
    Deadline: Sept. 15, 2014

    Deadlines Down the Line

    Ancil Payne Awards for Ethics in Journalism
    University of Oregon
    The award honors journalists who inspire public trust and demonstrate exceptional journalism ethics behavior.
    Deadline: March 3, 2015

    AP-Google Scholarship
    Online News Association
    The scholarship program fosters new journalism skills in undergraduate and graduate students enveloping projects at the intersection of journalism and technology.

    Anthony Shadid Award for Journalism Ethics
    University of Wisconsin-Madison Center for Journalism Ethics
    One journalism or team will be recognized for reporting on a story or series with ethical excellence — by seeking and reporting truth, minimizing harm, acting independently, and remaining accountable.

    APME Journalism Excellence Awards
    Associated Press Media Editors
    The awards honor superior journalism and innovation among newspapers, radio, televise band online news sites across the United States and Canada.

    Best of Photojournalism Competition
    National Press Photographers Association
    This long-standing visual journalism competition recognizes the most talented professionals in still, video, multimedia and editing.

    Bookmarks Awards
    Digital Media and Marketing Association
    The Bookmarks Awards, based in South Africa, honor excellence in digital work, from websites, app development and games to multimedia and digital journalism.

    Data Journalism Awards
    Global Editors Network
    The awards is an international contest recognizing outstanding work in data journalism worldwide.

    Edward R. Murrow Awards
    Radio Television Digital News Association
    The award honors outstanding achievements in electronic journalism and are presented to news organizations.

    European Digital Media Awards
    World Association of Newspapers and News Publishers
    The awards honor European publishers that have excelled in their digital offerings.

    Excellence in Online Journalism Award
    National Press Foundation
    The award recognizes significant achievements in the field of internet journalism and honors outstanding use of online technology to produce quality journalism.
    Deadline: October 2014

    ICFJ Awards
    International Center for Journalists
    The ICFJ has various awards, including a news innovation award, which promotes the free flow of news and the open exchange of ideas, and an award for general excellence in journalism.

    Mirror Awards
    Syracuse University S. I. Newhouse School of Public Communications
    The Mirror Awards honor excellence in media industry reporting in various categories for various forms of media.

    Pulitzer Prizes
    Columbia University
    The Pulitzer Prize awards achievements in newspaper and online journalism, literature and musical composition.
    Deadline: January 2015

    Selden Ring Award
    University of Southern California Annenberg School for Communication and Journalism
    The Selden Ring Award highlights the importance of investigative journalism in modern day reporting.
    Deadline: February 2015

    Shorty Awards
    The Shorty Awards honor the best of social media. Millions of people participate in The Shortys to recognize individuals and organizations producing great content on Twitter, Facebook, Tumblr, YouTube, Foursquare and the rest of the social web.

    Society of Professional Journalists Awards
    The Society of Professional Journalists has various awards for professional to collegiate journalists for excellence in various forms of media.

    United Nations/Ranan Lurie Political Cartoon Awards
    The United Nations/Ranan Lurie
    The awards are granted for the best political cartoons reflecting the spirit and the principles of the United Nations.
    Deadline: Nov. 15, 2014

    Webby Awards
    The Webby Awards honor the best of the web, from multimedia to digital journalism to interactive publishing to online campaigns.

    Angela Washeck is a freelance writer and editor based in Dallas. She is a proud graduate of Texas A&M University, where she earned a Bachelor of Arts in Communication with a journalism minor. Angela also writes for MediaBistro’s 10,000 Words blog and TexasMonthly.com, and she interned with the TV news magazine “Dan Rather Reports.” Her work has been republished on Editor & Publisher, the American Press Institute and more. When Angela is not busy with PBS MediaShift work, you can find her watching “How I Met Your Mother” reruns, watching Aggie football and attending indie/folk concerts in Dallas. Follow her @angelawasheck.

    Tagged: data journalism awards digital journalism awards online journalism awards

    Comments are closed.

  • Who We Are

    MediaShift is the premier destination for insight and analysis at the intersection of media and technology. The MediaShift network includes MediaShift, EducationShift, MetricShift and Idea Lab, as well as workshops and weekend hackathons, email newsletters, a weekly podcast and a series of DigitalEd online trainings.

    About MediaShift »
    Contact us »
    Sponsor MediaShift »
    MediaShift Newsletters »

    Follow us on Social Media