X
    Categories: #EdShift ChatsEducationShiftEngagement

#EdShift Chat: How to Teach Engagement Strategies to Students

More and more, journalists and newsrooms are thinking critically about engagement. Engagement was at the forefront of the 2017 ONA Conference, and educators, too, must consider how to teach real-world engagement strategies to students who don’t have a built-in audience.

During this chat, we considered what engagement looks like today. We also brainstormed ways we can teach students to experiment with different listening tools, social media callouts, crowdsourcing, Facebook live, A/B testing and much more.

The chat took place on Wednesday, Oct. 25 at 1 p.m. Eastern / 12 noon Central / 10 a.m. Pacific Time, using the #EdShift hashtag on Twitter.

Participants included: Staci Baird of the University of La Verne, Jake Batsell of Southern Methodist University, Carrie Brown of the CUNY Graduate School of Journalism, Lisa Heyamoto of the University of Oregon, and Marie Shanahan of the University of Connecticut. 

Melissa DiPento :